Historical Background

Blouberg Municipality was established in 2000 after the amalgamation of the Northern District Council and Bochum/ My darling TLC. It has 118 settlements with Senwabarwana and Alldays considered semi-urban. But the area will increase after the formalization of the incorporation of Tolwe and Vivo within the jurisdiction of the Municipality.

Situated about 95 km from Polokwane, the Capital City of Limpopo Province, the Municipality covers an area of approximately 5054sqkm and spread to wide geographic area right up to the Botswana border. The area also has the country’s lowest levels of income. The Blouberg area has 18 wards with a population estimated at 161 322.

The inhabitants of the area are mostly the Bahananwa people, Batlokwa people, and a small portion of Vha-Venda, Afrikaans and English speaking in the rural farms. The area has a rich history of physical resistance to the early 19th Century Boer colonial incursion. The introduction of the Bantustan and trust systems met with unabated community disapproval.

The consequences of this particular stance resulted in both the central and Bantustan governments starving the communities around Blouberg of basic infrastructures and related development needs. Hence, it is today one of the least developed regions of the province.